It all started here

My interest in paper-crafting and card-making started just after my husband asked me to marry him – wedding invitations!

We decided on a vintage-travel theme for our morning picnic wedding. As with so many things I wasn’t exactly sure what I wanted for the invitations, but I did know what I did not want – boring printed invitations. And I wanted to make them myself (as with most things in the wedding).

After some research into custom-made stamps I visited County-Crafts in Randpark Ridge and was entranced by all the wonderful things that Joan and Magda showed me. I left feeling inspired, if a little intimidated and with a nice haul of stamps and inks. I also signed up for a card-making class to learn some more techniques.

A couple of months down the line, the stamps were made and used and the end result was beyond my expectations:

Invitation 1

Invitation 2 Invitation 3 Invitation 4 Invitation 5

There were some more paper-related projects that we (me and my lovely friends, bridesmaids, mother and soon-to-be-husband) made:

Ring-pillow

Ring ‘pillow’ made from a vintage book

Confetti

Confetti holders stamped with custom-made stamp and distressed. My mom punched all the heart-shaped confetti by hand!

 

The biggest of which was probably the 36-page booklet that we created that served as the wedding program, seating chart, menu and some light reading while the guests waited for thing to get started. Making the booklet was not really that hard, but when you make 72 copies of each embellished, stamped, distressed or embossed page it becomes quite a large task – thank goodness for all the willing hands!

Booklet

Creating so many things for the wedding really enhanced the whole experience for me and I can truly say that it was everything I ever dreamed of!

TheHappyCouple

One thought on “It all started here

Leave a comment